Odwalla & Naked Juice

I love a good summer drink year round, don’t you? As kids, my sister and I used to beg our dad to make us smoothies. It seemed like a Friday night thing. He’d pop popcorn in his air popper and then make smoothies and we would all sit down and watch a movie. Ahhh!

Well, I have had plenty of time on my own to experiment with my own smoothie blends. I must say though, that sometimes I just don’t feel like making the mess, so I splurge and pick up a pre-made one – either Odwalla or Naked. (And that’s Naked Juice, not naked me picking up a drink.) When I first discovered them, I wasn’t sure which was better, both in taste and ingredients, so I grabbed whichever one was on sale as long as it didn’t have added sugar. Now that I’ve had a few, done my nutritional research, and contacted both companies, here’s my take on the two companies…

Odwalla images15.png
Odwalla does not use any artificial sweeteners or processed sugars. They do however use organic evaporated cane juice and honey in some of their drinks. According to Verna from Odwalla, their organic evaporated cane juice is a natural sugar and is treated like a food from the time it is harvested until the time is goes into their bottles. The cane juice is pressed from sun-ripened sugarcane, washed, filtered and crystallized-all right on the farm. Verna told me that “yes, it is still cane, but we want to make sure that our consumers know it is not ordinary, as we feel it is very different from highly processed sugar.”

Odwalla Juices that do not have cane juice or honey are: Apple; Blueberry B; Berries Go Mega; Blackberry Fruit Shake; Carrot; Grapefruit; Mango Tango; Orange; Pomegranate Juice; Pomegranate Berry; Pomegranate Mango; Strawberry Banana; Super protein Original; Superfood Micronutrient; and Tangerine.

Naked Juice
I asked Dan, of Naked Juice, the same question I asked Verna – “Do you add any sweeteners to your drinks?” Dan’s response follows: “We don’t do that. Ever. There are absolutely no exceptions, and really, we don’t understand why someone would add sweeteners to juice. Juice is made from fruits. Fruits are sweet because they already have sugars in them. It’s our opinion that the amount of sugar Mother Nature put in the fruits is the exact right amount of sugar to be in Naked Juice.

Some specific comparisons:
Mango drinks
I enjoy fresh mangoes when they are in season, so finding a good mango drink is a treat. Odwalla makes “Mango Tango.” Naked makes “Mighty Mango.” Neither of these drinks have added sweeteners so I have had both. Naked’s drink has more of a typical smoothie taste with an apple juice base. There are in fact, more apples in the drink than mangoes. Odwalla’s Mango Tango, on the other hand, tastes like they have just squeezed the Mango right into the bottle. Mango Tango is thick and refreshing and I prefer it. Okay, I love it!

Vitamin C drinks @ 1000% daily value Vit. C
Odwalla makes Citrus C Monster fruit smoothie and Strawberry C Monster. Naked makes the following three: Power C, Strawberry-Banana C, and Tropical C. Both Odwalla drinks have cane juice, which I was afraid would result in a better taste than the Naked Juices, but I actually prefer the Naked Juices. Both companies drinks leave you wondering if they crushed up a million vitamin C chewables, but the Power C blend is much more pleasant. So, my favorite Vitamin C drink is the Naked Power C drink containing a blend of peach, guava, and mango.

I have tried a few other drinks from both companies, but I love the Mango Tango so much, that it’s hard to branch out and try other ones. Plus, I try to only grab one when it’s a treat. What a nice, healthy alternative to a visit to the Starbucks kiosk in Safeway. Cheaper too!

4 Comments »

  1. Jenny said

    For those that have the clotting disorder MTHFR, Naked Juice – Red Machine has 500mcg of folic acid as well as 6mcg of vitamin B12.

  2. Wow! Thank you very much!
    I always wanted to write in my blog something like that. Can I take part of your post to my blog?
    Of course, I will add backlink?

    Regards, Timur I.

  3. Leeann said

    Adore mango tango & pray it is the exception! Just saw this about naked drinks: Good morning american FB family, here’s something you should know about.
    You may be familiar with the Smoothy drinks from a company called NAKED that’s owned by Pepsi. Well, it seems that the contents of these drinks aren’t as all-natural or non-gmo after all. Naked has just agreed to settle a 9 million dollar class action lawsuit for false labeling. As it turns out, the drinks include 11 chemical additives, including one derived from Formaldehyde! Here’s a little info about Formaldehyde; ” Formaldehyde is highly toxic to all animals, regardless of method of intake. Ingestion of as little as 30 mL (1 oz.) of a solution containing 37% formaldehyde has been reported to cause death in an adult human.[27] Water solution of formaldehyde is very corrosive and its ingestion can cause severe injury to the upper gastrointestinal tract. I used to drink these drinks all the time, don’t be fooled by fancy marketing!!! SMH — with Ranad

  4. AngryOdwallaLover said

    Odwalla now uses stevia / Trulia instead of cane juice. One of the biggest changes under the Coke ownership.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

